skip navigation

Expanded USA South Footprint Leads to Adjusted Divisional Structure

New USA South members: Berea, Brevard, Pfeiffer

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. -- The USA South Athletic Conference welcomed three new members this summer in Berea College, Brevard College, and Pfeiffer University. The expanded footprint resulted in an adjusted divisional format as announced from the conference office early this week.

The Berea Moutaineers of Berea, Kentucky, enter as a full member immediately eligible for USA South championships and awards. Brevard and Pfeiffer, both located in North Carolina, are reclassifying to NCAA Division III and will gain full member status next year. The two schools will integrate into league schedules beginning this fall but will be not factor into conference standings. Student-athletes from Brevard and Pfeiffer will be eligible only for academic and sportsmanship honors this year as well.

With the addition of three new members, the USA South's divisional structures will adjust for the upcoming year. The conference will feature divisional standings in the sports of men's soccer, women's soccer, volleyball, men's basketball, women's basketball, softball, men's tennis and women's tennis. Pfeiffer will be placed in the East Division while Berea and Brevard will compete in the West. An additional adjustment moves Salem College to the East Division.

The Avenging Angels open the year September 1 with soccer hosting the Meredith Classic. Volleyball and cross country travel opening weekend.

Read more about new USA South members.