skip navigation

Meredith Hosts Athletic Banquet

Dr. Allen Burris and the 2013 Dean Burris Coach's Award recipients
Dr. Allen Burris and the 2013 Dean Burris Coach's Award recipients

RALEIGH, N.C. - The Meredith College Athletic Department hosted the annual awards banquet Wednesday, April 24, to celebrate the 2012-2013 accomplishments of the seven Avenging Angel teams and all student-athlete participants. Athletics Director Jackie Myers recognized the 63 student-athletes who earned at least a 3.0 grade point average during the 2012 calendar year, including eight named to the Vice-President's Club for earning a perfect 4.0. 

All seven head coaches present the Dean Burris Coach's Award annually to the individual who best exemplifies the qualities a coach looks for in a student-athlete. An advocate for Meredith athletics during his tenure with the college, Allen Burris joined Meredith in 1969 as the dean of the college and professor of history and retired in 1998 as senior vice-president for academic affairs. Burris and his son joined the event as a special guest for the first time during Myers' leadership, and she presented Burris with a custom Meredith blanket to honor his legacy.

Meredith boasted 27 USA South All-Conference selections, one Player of the Year, one Rookie of the Year and seven All-Sportsmanship recipients this year. Six of seven varsity teams earned an opportunity to compete in the conference championships for their respective sport.

Head Volleyball Coach Fiona Barkley presented senior softball player and two-time President of the Meredith Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Sara Cranford with a gift of appreciation. Cranford and all future SAAC presidents will be recognized with a plaque hanging in the halls of the Weatherspoon athletic and activities building alongside team special award recipients.

The evening concluded with a video highlighting the Avenging Angels' throughout the year.

Below is a list of honorees.

Most Improved Player - Raven Gregory
Most Valuable Player - McKenzi Edwards
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Laquetta Hairston

Cross Country
Most Improved Runner - Ashley Kate Kesler
Most Valuable Runner - Morgan Youd
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Megan Beebe

Most Improved Player - Lottie Meadows
Most Valuable Player - Katie Burnet
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Andie Stuber

Most Valuable Player - Amanda Beirne
Jack Huber Softball Award - Ashley Green
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Lorri Cole

Offensive Most Valuable Player - Jessie Davis
Defensive Most Valuable Player - Annah Kane
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Kimberly Williams

Most Improved Player - Taylor Brennan
Best Overall Player - Mary Lawrence Newton
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Betty Edwards

Most Valuable Player - Cori Spade
Avenging Angel Heart & Hustle Award - Kara Baughman
Dean Burris Coach's Award - Caroline Cobb